I can hardly say when it happened
all I know is that it did
One moment I was so sure,
then I felt something in me shift
Don’t know where I’m heading anymore
once, my future was all mapped out
I do not need to prove myself
The bitter bile and burning need
haven’t dug their claws into my chest,
not since a while
Though I am calm, I’m restless
This strange state brings into mind a poem
written by a different version of me, age
nine
The need to leave, to travel so far that all memories of my old life are but an echo, a furious scribble in a journal, tossed under the bed and forgotten
C.C.U.

Leave a Reply

